Make your own free website on

Wrestling Home

The five Ki-Be Bears going to state will have a big task ahead of them. Ki-Be has finished in the top 10 in team points for the last four years. These five will need to be in top form to keep this streak going.

1) Ale DeLaPena - This has been a record breaking year for Ale. His records include:

129 Career Wins
46 Career Pins (Currently tied with Travis Knutson)
825 Career Team Points
21 Career Tournaments Won
80 Consecutive Victories (Extended own record)
94.2 Career Winning Percentage (Improved own record)
9 Career Post-Season Tournaments Won
26 Consecutive Post-Season Wins (and counting)
4 District Championships
12 District Tournament Matches Won (Ties Joe Lanman)
12 Consecutive District Tournament Match Wins

And the list goes on and on. Ale needs only to collect his third state title and his highschool career will be possibly the best ever at Ki-Be, if not one of the best ever in the entire state. A finals matchup with 2x State Champion, Kenny Marsh would be a fitting climax to Ale's H.S. career.

2) Sergio Avila is 24-3 on the year and has also broke some records this year.

48 Career Wins at 101/103 weightclass
161 Season Team Points at 101/103 weightclass
16 Season Pins at 101/103 weightclass

Sergio broke all of his records that he set last year at 101 lbs. Sergio is the best 101/103 pounder in the history of Ki-Be. His 7th place finish at state last year was the best any 101/103 pounder had ever finished at state for the Bears. Sergio will be looking to better that mark this year. He may get a chance to wrestle unbeaten Mike Magnusson of Blaine in the semis.

3) Joey Isley is making a return trip to the state meet and would like to better his performance of a year ago. Isley will not let the Mat Classic atmosphere get to him this time and should be coming home with a medal. It would be great to see Joey walking in the Parade of Champions. Joey starts things off at state against Johnny Martinez of Othello, a wrestler he dominated at District. This will be a good test for him, to see if the atmosphere is not going to be a problem this year.

4) Jesse DeLaPena is also making a return trip to state. Last year Jesse went 0-2, but had a near comeback against Luke Larson of Forks. Trailing 7-0, Jesse gave it his all and scored two takedowns and a 3 point nearfall to pull within 11-9. He almost won the match at the end as he nearly put Larson on his back again just before time ran out. Last years experience should help Jesse this year. 3rd place state vet John Dudley will be Jesse's first assignment and don't be surprised if this is an upset win for Jesse.

5) Josh Corke is one of only 7 freshman appearing at state in the 2A ranks this year. He is also the heaviest at 135 lbs. 103 has 4, 112 has 1 and 125 has 1 (wrestling Ale). Josh has gained an advantage that he will be able to hang onto his entire H.S. career. Corke provided an upset at Regional, why not at State as well. Josh is not going to State to get experience, but rather to win. His aggressive style may confuse a few wrestlers and provide Josh with the chance to win some matches and possibly place.

Congratulations also to Angel Mejia, Bobby Canales, Zach Lefevre, Josh Corriel, Josh Grier and Cody Roos. You guys showed heart and pride this year. The Bears will miss you next year Bobby, Angel and Zach. Godspeed and thanks for a great year guys.

Here is a list of Ki-Be finalist and their Championship match results:

Championship Finals Results

1982 -- 168 lbs Lonnie Renz lost by 13-9 decison to Tono Caballero of Warden

1995 -- 141 lbs Garrett Knutson won by decision 8-6 over Gilbert Chavez of Mabton

1996 -- 141 lbs Travis Knutson won by decision in OT 6-4 over Roger Aguiar of Zillah

1996 -- 148 lbs Garrett Knutson won by fall over Jason Collins of Toledo

1997 -- 148 lbs Travis Knutson lost by decision in OT 9-7 to Ben Barkley of Orting

1997 -- 158lbs Garrett Knutson won by major decision 15-5 over Luke Hughes of Liberty Bell

1998 -- 115 lbs Ale DeLaPena won by decision in OT 6-4 over John Cerna of Toppenish

1998 -- 158 lbs Travis Knutson lost by decision in OT 9-7 to Dino Castilleja of Toppenish

1999 -- 122 lbs Ale DeLaPena won by decision 3-1 over John Cerna of Toppenish